Reviews

The Alliance of Independent Authors - Author Member

Here are some of the extracts from enthusiastic reviewers of Eric Seagull’s adventures, as featured on Amazon’s UK site, and USA, including a 5 star review from Texas! And recently France!

By Peggy M McAloonon 9 March 2017  5 .0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious Sea Creatures
Format: Paperback
A mystery – Adventure – Strange Creatures & Magic

Oh, my! What a delightful tale about a wonderful bespectacled seagull and the creatures he meets both above and below the surface of the waters of Brixham. Does he stand a chance with the Mermaid Queen or will she keep him underwater forever? My grandchildren delighted in Eric’s adventures.

5.0 out of 5 stars The Christmas Circus.

Well recommended to inspire young people to read for themselves.
By caro on 14 Nov. 2016
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The second book of Caz Greenham’s that I have bought, again beautifully written and perfect for my 7 year old granddaughter who has just begun to read for pleasure. Keep writing Caz Greenham…so I can have another lovely book of yours for next Christmas!

The Adventures of Eric Seagull. Book One. The Mysterious Sea Creatures

5.0 out of 5 stars… gift from me and find this lovely story with beautiful illustrations!
By caro from France on 22 June 2016
Format: Paperback/Verified Purchase
My 6 year old granddaughter was thrilled to open her birthday gift from me and find this lovely story with beautiful illustrations! She’ll have to wait until she is seven for the next one!

5.0 out of 5 stars
By miss on 9 February 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is just one of the very best new characters created for children in a very long time. Eric is entertaining and loveable without being too soft and childlike. Great for children, but I think the adults will keep suggesting it as a bedtime read just so they can be in Eric’s world again.

5.0 out of 5 stars
By David Procter on 27 December 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
A lovely story. Eric has become my granddaughters newest bestest friend. Have read both books to her over Christmas and will do so again many times to come. well done Mrs Greenham for bringing such a loveable creation to print.

On 5/10/15, 1:56 PM, Bobbi Capwell wrote in a message: “Oh I love your book. I just came across it. I am reading it now. I love Eric. He is quite the adventurer and man can he tell a story!!”

The Adventure continues
Review By Bobbi Capwell from Texas on May 11, 2015
Format: Paperback Amazon 5 star review

The Adventures of Eric Seagull by Caz Greenham
Eric Seagull is not like any other seagull that I have encountered. He appears to be very educated and quite friendly. His south Texas cousins here can be quite rude at picnics, beach adventures or even in the parking lot. Eric was a breath of fresh air. I was so excited to read about his adventures.

Eric is a British Seagull that lives in Rock-face Nest, Brixham Bay on the South Devon Coast. He lives with Herbie Mouse. Eric says that Herbie loves to cook and take care of the place. The story begins with how Herbie and Eric met. They met at Fishcombe Cove at the Ugliest Toad and Best Boogey Monster Contest. While drinking clover tea, a mysterious letter about Cousin Percy is read. Cousin Percy lives in Calais, France. The adventure begins…
The adventure takes the reader on a journey to meet funny, energetic and vibrant and a wee bit mischievous characters. As an educator, I found it perfect to connect with our feathered friends unit, map unit, literacy circles, character building unit and drama club. The characters are developed in such a way that everyone can relate and identify with them. I also found that it was good to read to all ages because it holds everyone attention as they are wondering what will happen next with Eric. Illustrations are simple and lightly water colored so that the reader can complete them in their mind. My favorite is Herbie sitting by the fire. You can hear the fire crackling and feel the warmth and smell the aroma of the fire all from the illustration.

Eric is not a bird of simple words. He loves to describe in detail what he sees, eats or will be doing. The reader can taste the “mouth-watering cod fish”, smell the slimy black eggs that or chuckle as Percy is covering his ears and singing loudly, “la,la,la” while ignoring Finny the leprechaun.
Eric will be a favorite of all ages for many years to come.
1 Vote Caz Greenham writes with a magical, imaginative prose. Caz Greenham transports one into a world filled with the lovable and few mischievous casts of characters that are vibrant and energetic. The plot, which can easily be understood by children ages 6 and up are consistent with the story’s fast pace and its high-interest subject that will hold the attention of older preschoolers as well. The Adventures of Eric Seagull is interesting and delightful. For Adults and educators in elementary grades, the book offers an opportunity to teach geographical locations, map making skills, and for literature circles a pleasurable discussion on choice making to friendship. The bright watercolor and pencil illustrations brim with wistfulness, underscoring the tender emotions of the characters.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all ages!
By Style1con on 26 March 2013
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
A great story, well written and full of lovely detail. I read this to my grandchildren aged 5 and 3 at bedtime and they loved Eric and his friends, who are real characters. Written in ‘bedtime-sized’ chapters, it will be a great book for older children to read as it is so well written. LFB.

5 stars Fun seaside tale that made me nostalgic for Brixham
By Debbie Young on 13 March 2013
Format: Paperback
When I first picked this book up, my attention was caught by the setting of Brixham. Its hero, Eric Seagull, may well end up doing for this traditional Devon seaside town what the famous Mousehole Cat has done for that Cornish fishing village’s tourist trade and the Tobermory Cat for the Scottish island of Mull.

Billed as the first in a proposed series of adventures for Eric Seagull, this book establishes some interesting characters, relationships and settings, to be followed up in later stories. The book combines a pleasing recognition of the laws of nature, such as the whale’s habits, with zany unrealistic details, such as Herbie Mouse sharing a home with Eric Seagull and doing all his cooking. I am sure children will lap it up and be clamouring for the next book in the series as soon as they finish this one.

This lively story, which moves swiftly along from one interesting venue to another, is given additional zest by gorgeous,vividly coloured pictures. Scattered throughout the chapters, these will encourage readers who are just gaining confidence with chapter books to keep reading to the end – a nice balance.

This endearing story and its luscious coloured pages made me hanker after a trip to the seaside. Next time I go, I might even find myself looking out for a seagull in a jaunty hat and glasses. Pure fun.

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book
By nicky on 12 March 2013
Format: Paperback
I bought this book for my children, nieces and nephew.(ages 3 – 13yrs ) Thought it was brilliant!! Eric with his great adventures. I definitely recommend this book.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all the family!
By Hayley on 1 March 2013
Format: Paperback
My daughter and I enjoyed reading this book together. With great characters and pictures to match, as well as a good story, this makes a book that will be read over and over again!

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality book !!
By Justin on 26 February 2013
Format: Paperback
A great book enjoyed by the whole family.Great characters.Great adventures.Would recommend this book to everyone !! A great quality book !!

5.0 out of 5 stars My review of The Adventures of Eric Seagull
By Ronnie on 24 February 2013
Format: Paperback
I bought this book as an easter gift for my young 8 yr old grandson. It’s a very well written and illustrated book, filled with adventure after adventure. Suited to boys and girls. I would like to praise the author for her wonderful imagination. My grandson loves the seagull ‘story-teller’ idea. I also thought that was a good and clever idea, too. Nice to see something different for children to read. I have given this author 5 stars. And would certainly recommend this book to others. Lots of wonderful characters too. A great book. A great buy. I’m looking forward to buying more of this author’s books as they become available.

5.0 out of 5 stars Good adventure book
By Louise on 24 February 2013
Format: Paperback
Bought this book for my 11 year old daughter which she loved reading! She loved eric with all his adventures,Is a great adventure book, I would definitely recommend this book.

5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, Imaginative, Absolutely loved this!, 26 Jun 2013
By Ginger D. Harman  (USA)
This review is from: The Adventures of Eric Seagull (Paperback)
The Adventures of Eric Seagull by Caz Greenham
A book review written by Ginger Dawn Harman

Are you ready for some “mouth-watering cod fish” and “lip-smacking mackerel fun? ” If yes, then let me introduce to you Eric Seagull and tell you about his adventures for children. Eric Seagull lives in Rockface Nest, Brixham Bay, on the beautiful South Devon coast. He shares his home with Herbie Mouse, who loves to cook and keep house. Herbie met Eric at the Ugliest Toad and Best Boogey Monster Competition, held in a fairy cave at Fishcombe Cove. The story begins with a mysterious letter about Cousin Percy who lives in Calais, France. Over clover tea the journey begins.

Caz Greenham writes with a magical, imaginative prose. Greenham transports one into a world filled with the lovable and few mischievous casts of characters that are vibrant and energetic. The plot, which can easily be understood by children ages 6 and up are consistent with the story’s fast pace and its high-interest subject that will hold the attention of older preschoolers as well. The Adventures of Eric Seagull is interesting and delightful. For Adults and educators in elementary grades, the book offers an opportunity to teach geographical locations, map making skills, and for literature circles a pleasurable discussion on choice making to friendship. The bright watercolor and pencil illustrations brim with wistfulness, underscoring the tender emotions of the characters.

The Adventures of Eric Seagull is rich with imagery. “Large brown crabs with happy faces trimmed green seaweed salad with their sharp pincer claws. Flying fish spooned slimy black fish eggs into empty oyster shells” is an example of Greenham’s vivid and descriptive language that adds depth to Eric’s journey. The added mischief of Cousin Percy and Finney the Leprechaun brought much laughter from boys and girls. Reading to younger listeners the words “Red haired mop-head” to “Feather face” had children filled with excitement. Imagery of Percy covering his ears with his wings and beginning to sing, “La La, La” thus ignoring Finny, was a delight for the young listener. This story will become a favorite read for Librarians to share during story hour.

The author, Caz Greenham is equally interesting. The Adventures of Eric Seagull was written while on holiday in Torbay, a borough in Devon, England. The main character Eric was based on a flamboyant Professor of Physics who worked with the author’s father. Her stories of breaking a glass at a book event or walking her cocker spaniels on Facebook also brighten one’s day. I highly recommend The Adventures of Eric Seagull by Caz Greenham and look forward to the second book soon to be published titled A Fairy’s Wish. So grab your blue beret and join the Eric Seagull Reading Club, it is a five star adventure

5.0 out of 5 stars Fun seaside tale that made me nostalgic for Brixham, 13 Mar 2013
By Deborah Young “Debbie Young” ( England) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)
This review is from: The Adventures of Eric Seagull (Paperback)
When I first picked this book up, my attention was caught by the setting of Brixham. Its hero, Eric Seagull, may well end up doing for this traditional Devon seaside town what the famous Mousehole Cat has done for that Cornish fishing village’s tourist trade and the Tobermory Cat for the Scottish island of Mull.

Billed as the first in a proposed series of adventures for Eric Seagull, this book establishes some interesting characters, relationships and settings, to be followed up in later stories. The book combines a pleasing recognition of the laws of nature, such as the whale’s habits, with zany unrealistic details, such as Herbie Mouse sharing a home with Eric Seagull and doing all his cooking. I am sure children will lap it up and be clamouring for the next book in the series as soon as they finish this one.

This lively story, which moves swiftly along from one interesting venue to another, is given additional zest by gorgeous,vividly coloured pictures. Scattered throughout the chapters, these will encourage readers who are just gaining confidence with chapter books to keep reading to the end – a nice balance.

This endearing story and its luscious coloured pages made me hanker after a trip to the seaside. Next time I go, I might even find myself looking out for a seagull in a jaunty hat and glasses. Pure fun.

Reviews for Book 2. A Fairy’s Wish
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adventure Book!
By Louise on 28 December 2015
Format: Paperback
After enjoying book 1 I was excited to read what more adventures Eric would be going on next, my son & daughter also loved reading this & is a great family book to read, love all what Eric gets up too & he does get himself into some exciting adventures!

5.0 out of 5 stars
By David Procter on 28 December 2015
Format: Paperback
A lovely story. Eric has become my granddaughters newest bestest friend. Have read both books to her over Christmas and will do so again many times to come. well done Miss Greenham for bringing such a loveable creation to print.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great second book.
By Justin on 28 December 2015
Format: Paperback
A great book,great characters,with great adventures,enjoyed this book as much as the first one !

5.0 out of 5 stars Fun second adventure of Brixham’s famous seagull
By Debbie Young on 8 September 2013
Format: Paperback
This second book in Caz Greenham’s series further develops the endearing character of the kind and helpful Eric Seagull, who tries to fit in good deeds around his day-job of reporting news for the Brixham Times (editor: Mr Cormorant Seabird).

These books are an interesting mix of realistic description of wildlife and complete fantasy. At one point in this book, Eric Seagull, having eaten so many fish he is too heavy to fly, makes a temporary nest on the rubbish left by holidaymakers on the beach… just after he’s given a lift to a fairy! (I was half-expecting Eric to lift a pasty from a tourist’s hand for his tea.)Another cute detail was having a spider return a favour to Eric by making a silk tablecloth for his nest. I also liked the colourful similes “white as a seashell”, “black as a whale’s fin”, evoking the natural world but used to describe details of the fantasy world of fairies.

A fun, different read, with a great eye-catching cover – the vivid pink background is a nice follow-up to the sky-blue cover of the first book. I wonder what colour the front of the third book will be…

A good gift for any child who holidays in Brixham – they’ll be keeping an eye out for Eric Seagull next time they go there!

5.0 out of 5 stars A must Read
By Ronnie on 24 November 2013
Format: Paperback
If you have read The Adventures of Eric Seagull book one, then this is a must read in the series of Eric and his magical world. It’s a wonderful magical world of Fairies which makes you feel as if you are there taking part in all the adventures

Reviews for Book 3. The Christmas Circus

5.0 out of 5 stars The Christmas Circus, gets a five star review. And I am honoured to be the first, here.
By Ronnie on 15 Dec. 2015
Format: Paperback
I’m delighted to see this author has written a third in this series. I bought the other 2 books already, and have to congratulate the writer on her amazing writing talent and imagination. My grandson has been a follower of Eric Seagull and will love his stocking filler. His eyes will light up when he sees I have been able to obtain an author signed copy, once again. Thank you Caz Greenham. I am looking forward to a fourth in this series real soon. My grandson will be showing off his new Christmas book at school in the New Year, no doubt.

5.0 out of 5 stars Eric goes on some amazing adventures & the Author of this book has such …
By Louise on 28 Dec. 2015
Format: Paperback
After enjoying book 1 and 2 I was excited to hear that book 3 was out! Eric goes on some amazing adventures & the Author of this book has such a great imagination, the stories are written out so well and is a nice and easy read,lovely to read to children of very young ages too, great family books and really enjoy reading about Eric and his exciting adventures.

Advertisements